Using OSRAM Lightify Motion Sensor with HA - Triggered by change in RGB

Apologies if I’ve posted this in the wrong category. I’m new to HA but very quickly loving what it can do. I started with the basic scheduling of lights and switches, and as I already had a Lightify gateway for the bulbs, I decided to get the Osram Motion Sensor too to trigger the porch light when movement is detected after sunset. However, I found it wasn’t just a case of plug and play. What I did find on my voyage of discovering is that the attributes of this sensor (recognised as a light in HA) changed when movement was detected, specifically the RGB_COLOR value. After much fighting I finally created a sensor which switches on and off when movement is detected and thought I’d share as it has taken me days to get this far so it may help someone else.

- platform: template
    sensors:
      porch_movements:
        value_template: "{% if '255, 255, 0' in states.light.porch_motion.attributes.rgb_color | string %}On{% else %}Off{% endif %}"

light.porch_motion is the name of the Osram Device
rgb_color: 255, 0, 0 is set when there is no movement
rgb_color: 255, 255, 0 means that movement has been detected

It’s so simple but took me days of trying to extract or test against this rgb value! I can now automate this, keeping on the outside porch light for a defined amount of time and restoring it back to its previous setting (based on a contribution I’ve found elsewhere on this forum) when it’s triggered.

works like a charm !

Thank you very much.

Worked for me to, although the RGB values were 1,1,0 instead. Thanks = )

Edit: After upgrading HA to 0.82.1 I had to change RGB values to 255 also ; )

Hi!, thank you for your hard work!!!. How we do the automation?, I’ve made several attempts with different parameters but I don’t g et it.

Thanks in advance!

Hi kalety,

do you have make a template.sensor like this:

sensors:
    ar_motion: