Using unflashed Sonoff Mini with HA via HACS but no devices listed

Hi folks, I’m fairly new to HA (couple of months now) and in the last couple of weeks I’ve installed HACS (using various Youtube contributors) so I can use Sonoff Minis and avoid firmware flashing. HACS installed successfully and it picked up my single Sonoff Mini which I can switch via the HA “Overview” page.

When I try to kick off an automation however I find that whilst I have an entity for the Sonoff, I don’t seem to have a device listed for it. This seems to mean I can’t use the UI to create another automation for it. Also, my other devices appear in the overview by “Area”, the Sonoff Mini appears under “Switch” - ideally I’d like it to be listed under the area I’ve set for it, i.e. “Outside”. I’m still using the default layout for the Overview, I haven’t (yet?) ventured into editing the Lovelace dashboard.

I tried to create an automation “long hand” using YAML but on inspection of the automations created by the UI, I seem to need a device identity and not having a corresponding device for my Sonoff entity, I suspect I won’t be able to without this identity.

I certainly don’t mind editing the YAML (retired software engineer…) but I think my newbie status and a lack of understanding somewhere (on my part) is causing me these problems. Do all HACS added items (e.g. Sonoff Minis) have to have their automations created and maintained via the YAML?

Have I done something wrong, or do I need more information? Please help, I’m getting bored with having to switch my outside lights (connected to the Sonoff) by hand every night.

Many thanks.

Hi there…Just FYI HACS is just the custom component store just like google store or apple store. If you are able to use the sonoff mini without flashing you mostly would be using the custom component SonoffLAN https://github.com/AlexxIT/SonoffLAN#tested-devices .