Value Translation

I was a control systems engineer and for distributed control system tags there was always an easy way of translating on/off, zero or 1, or even lists of values to text strings, For example for a boolean you could convert an “on/1” to “running” or “open” or “alarm” or any text you wanted. If you had a device that had multiple interger values you could convert them to text. For example 12 = “High”, 13 = “low”, 14=“bad”. In one system they called them digital state tables and you made multiple lists and then applied the table to what in Home Assistant is the entity. For example:

Door Switch
0 Open
1 Closed

Window Contact Switch
0 Alarm
1 Closed

Christmas Tree Lights
12 White
13 Multi Colored
14 Blink White
14 Blink Multi Colored

I have some Zwave garage door sensors I would like to change the text from on and off to open and closed. I found out how to do it but a yaml configuration instead of through the interface. From my web searches I am not the only one that has wanted to do this.

Do you mean something like this ?

1 Like

Device_class -> garage. You can set it through the customize section in the UI.

1 Like

Yes, I had not found the Binary Sensor yet, Thanks!

eh ?

You had not found binary sensor yet you thought that you should launch a feature request without researching your problem ?

Why ?

I did once help a Portuguese guy create sensors (they can’t be binary_sensors) so that when his windows wer open/closed it said so in his users frontend in Portuguese.
I dont think that applies here

It is not that I had not researched the issue, I had. In my web searching I had not found a post that I thought addressed my issue. I was unaware of how the device class addressed both the icon and the state values. I also do not think changing the device class it is at all an obvious solution unless you are very familiar with Home Assistant. There is a lot to Home Assistant/ to learn…