Vera Error - Entity ids already exist, unable to toggle devices on and off

I have been using HASS with VERA for a few years with no problems but recently I’m not able to toggle some of my switches on within HASS. If I toggle the switch on from the frontend, the switch is toggled right back off and the light never turns on. In the logs, I am seeing errors when HASS loads that look like this:

2020-02-12 22:38:56 ERROR (MainThread) [homeassistant.core] Error doing job: Task exception was never retrieved
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/src/homeassistant/homeassistant/helpers/entity_platform.py", line 415, in _async_add_entity
    raise HomeAssistantError(msg)
homeassistant.exceptions.HomeAssistantError: Entity id already exists: switch.water_valve_112. Platform vera does not generate unique IDs

I am using HASS 0.105.3 right now.

2 Likes

I’m seeing the same behaviour, only very recently does this seem to happen for some components on boot with the same exceptions about entity id already exists. I don’t have any duplicate IDs as far as I’m aware, nothing has changed on the Vera side.

Also HASS 0.105.3

Same here. Already tried to reset HA db. Have you resolved?

This seems to have occurred in my case because my Vera started passing through a whole lot of devices with a _2 suffix with the same ID as the old devices without that suffix.

I have resolved this in HA as follows:

1. (BACK UP THIS FILE FIRST!) Removing all Vera entities from the (hidden) .storage/core.entity_registry file. Search through it for the string ‘vera’ and remove each json entry. I used the VS Code add-on to do this but I imagine you could SSH in or possibly use Configurator

2. Restart home assistant

3. Search the Entities config screen for ‘vera’ and you’ll see all your entities newly-imported (without any errors about dupicate IDs)

4. Because a lot of mine now had the _2 suffix, I selected each one and renamed it back to the entity name I used previously