vLAN design for Shelly switches

My network is made of unifi switches, AP’s and a router with an isolated vLAN for IoT and a main vLAN for everything else. The IoT vLAN has no internet access and can only access Home Assistant on main vLAN.

This is working well for my esphome devices as they can still get updates from Home Assistant.

I am about to migrate all of my switches from Zwave to Shelly. What is the recommendation to still keep firmware updates?

1. Put Shelly devices in the main vLAN?
  2. Put Shelly devices in the IoT vLAN and create a rule for firmware updates?
  3. Another option?

Since you went to all the work of creating an IoT vlan, why put IoT things anywhere else? You can create a “Shelly” network group, and create a firewall rule that gives the Shellys access to the Internet. For tighter control, you could only enable that Shelly rule when you want to update the firmware.

I’m pretty new at this, so please tell me if I missed something or misunderstood your situation.

1 Like

Option 3: flash your Shellies with ESPHome and put them on the IoT VLAN as they don’t need external access.

1 Like

Thank you @Troon, I didn’t realise that you could flash the Shellies with ESPHome!
This is the option I will go with as it fits my use case the best.

Yeah, you’ll need a 3.3V FTDI module like this one and some jumper leads. You can find tutorials online: just make sure you don’t power the Shelly from mains whilst flashing!

I converted my two Shelly 1 units as they were having connection problems on the OEM firmware, and they’ve been perfect ever since.

1 Like

It looks like there is an OTA option which I will try. I have an FTDI module to fall back on as I flashed a Sonoff S26 a few months back.

1 Like

Good luck, and do report back on success as that sounds less fiddly. I used a similar route for my UP111 Gosund smart plugs, and that worked (with a bit of persuasion!).

1 Like

Why people suggest flashing with 3rd party first, without a reason?