Was it a mistake to factory reset my z-stick?

I’m new to Home Assistant, fleeing the disaster that is SmartThings. I’m using a ubuntu box with an Aeotec z-stick gen5. I had most things working well, but then I went to try to remove an unknown device that wouldn’t go away. Long story short, I factory reset the z-stick, and now all of the z-wave devices show up but are greyed out and unusable.

Is it possible to recover the zwave configuration? I have the files backed up. Or am I just going to have to manually re-add everything? If the latter, then do the existing devices/entities need to be removed first?

What kind of backup do you have? the HA config files or a backup of the Z stick itself?

The HA files. Didn’t realize that the z-stick could be backed up.

Then sorry… you’re screwed…

No

Yes

2 Likes

Aeotech bacup software for windows
https://aeotec.freshdesk.com/helpdesk/attachments/6114251112

Link was from here

1 Like

Thanks for confirming.

Sorry I didn’t see your reply until now.

For future reference users won’t be notified directly of your replies to them unless you put their username in the post (i.e. @finity) or you reply to them by using the reply button in their post.

Thank you. I expected that any reply to the thread would have notified everyone who spoke in the thread. So many conversation apps these days, it’s a full-time job to know what to expect with. The tech world needs a standard way of indicating what will happen.

1 Like

@finity BTW, I did click reply on your response from yesterday. The UI doesn’t indicate that I replied to your response, so I’m replying again referencing you directly.

Yeah, I just got your last two replies.

The system will update my “unread” topics to tell me there are new posts but I sometimes don’t get to those right away. But if I see a notification I’ll usually get to those first.