Watering/garden hose control

Hi All,

I was looking for a way to control a sprinkler in my yard that was simple and cheap.

I ran across the Orbit 58874N, which is a valve that plugs into a controller unit, which in turn lets you set timers etc. https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B003LY4I2I/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I thought I would try to see if I could make the valve function by itself (i.e. without the controller). It has a two-pin plug on it that plugs into the controller, so I started playing with actuating it.

My initial assumptions for how it worked were wrong (I assumed current on = open, current off = closed), but I managed to figure out that applying a momentary 12v DC current in one polarity opens it (at which time it locks open), and a momentary 12v DC current in the other polarity closes it (and locks it).

I put together an ESP8266, 12v DC power supply, and dual-relay hat, together with Tasmota, to control it. The dual relays are needed to be able to reverse the current polarity while using only one power supply.

I set up Tasmota with two physical momentary switches (i.e. switch with corresponding relay), one for ‘open solenoid’ and one for ‘close solenoid’, and one virtual switch (i.e. switch with no relay), for water on/off. I programmed rules in Tasmota so that the two physical relays could never be actuated at the same time. The third switch acts as the ‘keeper’ of the state of the valve (remember the physical switches are momentary so they go back to an off state after they are actuated). Setting the value of the third switch required more rules to set it’s value each time one of the physical switches is triggered. This third switch is also the entity that is controlled from Home Assistant and turns the water flow on and off (Tasmota rule so that if the state of this switch changes it actuates one or the other of the physical switches).