WeatherFlow Smart Weather Station via UDP

weatherflow
I finally managed to put together a Custom Component that can read Weather data from a WeatherFlow Smart Home Weather station using the UDP API that this station exposes. This means that everything is running on the local network and there is no need to access anything outside Home Assistant.

For people owning such a Weather Station, you can get realtime weather data that is updated every minute for most values and every 3 seconds for Wind Speed and Wind Bearing.

Output is a set of sensors all prefixed with smartweatherudp. and where most of them are direct readings from the weather station, some of them are calculated values based on formulas and data from the station.

It has been running on my test system now for several weeks, and even though it is a continues loop in the background, I have not noticed a big spike in load on my system, so hopefully that also applies for you.

I am not a programmer by trade, so I had to learn Python, by looking at what others did, and then adapt it to my needs, so please bear with me if the code is not pretty, but at least it works on my system.
Looking forward to feedback and suggestions from the community.

You find the source and instructions how to install on Github

I have also made a more extensive version that uses the REST API and the WeatherFlow Smart Weather hardware. For this Component look here: SmartWeather - Get local weather data combined with Dark Sky Forecast

Example of some of the sensors created by the system

6 Likes

Great work, i was already using your API version but will switch to this one. I will test this out and come back with feedback. Are you adding a tip option somewhere to reward your hard work?

Edit:
Question 1:
Does the UDP version not combine darksky weather with the Weatherflow data just like the API version?

Question 2:
Also no binary sensors like freezing/lightning/raining?