Web Interface Not Accesible on First Install

Hey all,
I am brand new out of the box to the Home Assistant world, and I am excited to get going with it. However, I am running into issues accessing the Web Interface on my first install. I’ve tried both a Raspberry Pi 4 and a virtual machine on Ubuntu; I am confident I followed the HA instructions to the letter on both installs. The Home Assistant network shows up on my router, and I can see the Home Assistant IP address, but whenever I try to go to homeassistant.local:8123, homeassistant:8123, or the IPaddress:8123, it says that it refused to connect.
The mobile app also has issues; it just continuously scans for the HA network. I’m thinking that it may be an issue with my internet, but I don’t even know where to start troubleshooting that. Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated. I am a noob when it comes to programming and these things, but I am willing to learn. And if I am in the wrong category of the forum, just let me know and I can post it elsewhere. Thank you!

BCunningham210

hello
seems u need to open or redirect the 8123 port.
first you have to get it working locally

• maybe look at your vm network settings.
  • yesterday a guy needed to open the port under ufw (ubuntu firewall).
  • on docker you have to get network_mode: host or open the port 8123

Hey Tom,
I did a quick search online and there was this port checker to see if the port is open. I entered my router’s IP address and the 8123 port and it said the port is closed. I followed the instructions on the VM installation, where it says to go to Network, bridged, and choose the adapter. Is there some other setting that I am missing? I didn’t see anything about ports. I will check the ubuntu firewall and mess around with it. Is there a guide out there on how to open the 8123 port?