Wemos D1 Mini with multiple sensors

Hello,

I’m looking to create an all-in-one sensor module. I purchased a 5pk of Wemos D1 Minis which I was hoping to use for the main board but also have a couple ESP8266 (esp-12) laying around as well.

On this board I want to power a BME680, TEMT6000 Lux Sensor, HC-SR501 Motion sensor and a SSD1306 display to show the BME680 info. I also want to power this via ESPHome within HA to configure into automations and dashboards.

I currently have a D1 Mini and ESP280 running fine with ESPHome but I wasn’t sure if I could plug multiple sensors into the same D1/D2 ports or if they have to be independent. Also, can all of these safely be powered via the 3.3v port or would that cause a power draw issue?

If anyone could help with a wiring diagram on how this should be configured I would be grateful.

I have some programming experience but i’m just getting into small electronic components and trying to self learn. I’ve seen diagrams with just one sensor, but not multiple to one board.

Thank you for any help you can provide!

BME680 and SSD1306 are I²C, TEMT6000 is analogue, HC-SR501 needs one digital GPIO pin, and prefers 5V to 3.3V.

In theory, you should have no problem connecting this lot up, but it won’t be all to D1/D2. Check out the ESPHome docs linked above, and this excellent article for choosing pins.

Thank you for the links!

So it seems BME680 and SSD1306 can utilize D1 and D2, TEMT6000 out should be to A0 and the HC-SR501 can be plugged into D3 using 5v instead of 3.3v for VCC. Is that correct?

Next I just have to figure out how to utilize the screen to display what I’m looking for - I guess I should dig more into the site.

I wouldn’t use D3 for the input, as per the table in that article. Use D5, D6 or D7.

1 Like

This article may interest you Time & Temperature on OLED Display — ESPHome

Thank you for all the help so far!