What "compatible with Alexa/Google home" means?

I’m still new to smart hardware and I’ve been trying to catch up on what protocols the different devices use. I’ve seen quite a few wifi light bulbs for example saying “Compatible with Alexa/Google home”. What does it mean? What protocol they use and would it be supported out of the box by some of the HA integrations? More particularly, are all wifi device which says “Compatible with Alexa/Google home” gonna be supported by some HA integration out of the box?

Generally speaking, there is no direct correlation between the “Compatible with…” labeling and compatibility with home assistant. That said, a whole lot of these devices can work with HA, regardless if they use wifi (IP protocols), or zwave/zigbee “hubs” to communicate with the internet. Usually IF it can be done, somebody has already done it and shared the info/scripts/configs needed to get it to work with HA.

Bottom line, no matter what stickers it has, you best check with the docs and/or community to verify something will work with homeassistant before you purchase. Further, some of these devices are very difficult or impossible to get to work with HA without using their respective cloud services. Since you’re using HA, I assume cloud independence is important to you. If so, take a step further and verify the devices you intend to purchase can talk to HA in a fully localized way.

Got it! I was just wondering if all the wifi devices that are “Compatible with Alexa” for example comply to the same protocol and that would mean that this guarantees that it will be compatible with HA as well (if there is an integration that understands this common protocol).

Do you know how this compatibility is implemented then? How are they discovered and accessed by Alexa/Google home?