What is the right way to implement Heat/Cool settings for thermostats during the year

I’m a HA newbie, so I’m struggling a little to understand the correct way to go about implementing my thermostats and door sensors.

I have 11 Honeywell thermostats, all connected via the Honeywell cloud. Each of these thermostats are in an individual room, with 2 doors. I’ve ordered some Aqara door sensors to try, and the Sonoff 3.0 USB zigbee adapter.

My goal is to have HA toggle the thermostat on and off based on the door sensor. IE: If the door has been in the open state for 300 seconds, turn the corresponding thermostat off. When the door has been closed for 300 second, return the thermostat to its previous state.

I poked around a little, and it doesn’t seem like I have an option of “previous state”. So the question is how to I turn the thermostat on to its previous state.

I thought perhaps I could toggle a scene throughout the year. IE: Winter vs Summer. Based on that scene, the thermostat would toggle back to heat or AC, however I can’t seem to save a scene when adding any of my thermostat devices. I suspect HA is not letting me save any scenes because I am improperly uses it.

Anyone care to give me pointers on the right way to go about toggling the thermostat back to its previous state?

You should look into scenes. I haven’t personally used scenes with thermostats, but in theory it should work. Search the forum to see if others have used it for this purpose.

Ok so I was on the right track with using Scenes. But for whatever reason I cannot get the Scene to save. The logs also show no clues.

I’ll search around and see if I can find anything.

Thanks for confirming my initial hunch.

So I’ve figured out the issue with the Scenes not saving.

I’ve modified the configuration.yaml file to enable automations and scenes.