What smart light bulbs can go really dim (candlelight dim)

I’m looking to replace an incandescent light wakeup system with HA controlling some smart lightbulbs. My first attempt was to use Tasmota CloudFree bulbs. I’m an experienced programmer, but new to Home Assistant. It seems that setting the brightness to 1% is still too bright. Even setting the color to red is still too bright. Perhaps I am naive in setting brightness to integer percentages. Perhaps I am using the wrong type of light bulb. I just don’t know and looking for someone more experienced to give me suggestions. --Thanks

1% brighness is going to be an integer brightness of 3 (max = 255).

So if a third of your 1% is dim enough try specifying brightness: 1 (integer from 1 to 255) instead of brightness_pct: 1.

Otherwise LIfx lights go quite dim but without anything to compare it to I’m not sure if it will be dim enough for you.

I haven’t tested all my lights for this, but I noticed that my Gledopto GU10 bulbs go a lot lower in mimimal intensity than my Innr E14 bulbs. Candlelight dim is the right ballpark for those. edit: looked up the type nrGL-S-007Z(lk) )

I have generic Tuya, Ikea, Hue and Lifx bulbs. The Hue and Lifx are good at being quite dim, whereas the generic and Ikea are fairly poor. So you probably get what you pay for.

I had the same question when I started, and didn’t see good smart bulb options. I obviously couldn’t try all but every led bulb I tried, even at the lowest brightness, are (or were) still too bright if you want candlelight level.

It is easier to find dumb bulbs that could go really dim… so in the end I went dumb bulbs + smart switches route.

Was told that if we run 24V circuits for 24V LED bulbs they could be amazing - it’s a rabbit hole and I couldn’t do that.

There were this thread. And I’m still searching good dumb bulbs.