When I delete an automation I no longer need (written and deleted in yaml) I later find a disabled automation in the configuration / entities list. In fact I find a lot of them. Why are they “disabled” rather than deleted?
This is actually documented behavior and only applies to automations that have a unique identifier set.
The root problem here is with the storage of Home Assistant. When an automation has an ID set, it is also stored in the storage (and unlocks things like changing name, entity ID and icon via the UI). When deleting automations outside of Home Assistant, there is no way the storage can notice that.
If you want to circumvent or have the normal behavior, don’t set an
id to manual automations or manage automations via the UI.
Removing ids it is then. Thanks.