When I hear pi I think 3.142 (22/7) Math

I am new to the home automation scene and I’m having trouble trying to install some software.
I couldn’t help but notice the slew of tutorials on installing hassio, but if I hear the words “raspberry pi” one more time, I am going to loose it.
I am a PC person, which means I am going to have a few of them lying around doing nothing.
So I’m in search of an UPDATED tutorial on how to install hassio on a PC (xi3) that isn’t running windows, I would like to stay clear of anything virtual, which means using a dedicated PC. I am positive I can build my own IOT server, I just need a little help.
I tried the Intel nuc image, didn’t work for me. The closest I got was installing Ubuntu 18.10 server and even a bit further using the Ubuntu desktop version. Went through the procedures for installing hassio, I even got it installed and running on both a couple of times but whenever the PC looses power home-assistant stays but hassio disappears.
Now I am trying Ubuntu 19.04 but I am getting a docker error.
Not everyone has or can afford a raspberry pi but most people have access to an older PC or laptop which can be re-purposed, so I say don’t forget about us.

Go with Ubuntu, Docker and HassIO. Documentation is a little lacking for a step-by-step but this gets you most of what you need, plus there are already threads on this forum for the rest of it. If you follow one of the NUC tutorials it will work fine (installing Ubuntu / Docker / HassIO) but just be sure to use the generic HassIO rather than the HassIO NUC image (which is designed for installation without Ubuntu / Docker anyway).

If this is the case you might want to stop chasing home automation because the RPi is cheap compared with the rabbit hole of other devices you would likely end up buying!

not to mention if you had old i3 PCs laying around you could sell one or two of them and get enough for a top of the line pi…the pi would use considerably less power than a pc.