Where do the UI config ends up?

I’m new to Home Assistant and do not really understand a thing here. I have configured several things in the configuration.yaml. I have also a few things I have configured from the UI. Where are those configuration stored?
E.g. I have a couple of MQTT sensors in my configuration file. I have also added a few ZigBee sensors via the UI. It works but I don’t really understand where the config for those ends up.

Can someone please point me to some documentation that can help me understand?

Regards,
Niklas

.storage folder, next to configuration.yaml. Your are not supposed to change things there.

Exception:

• automation
  • customize
1 Like

To clarify what christoph said : -
Don’t mess in the .storage folder - you REALLY need to know what you are doing to go in there.
The ui writes to that location so do any changes through the ui.
If you prefer to take manual control you can set your dashboard to yaml mode and write your configuration to configuration.yaml (and associated files)

2 Likes

Thanks for the quick answer!
I have´no intention to edit anyting in thge .storage. I just wanted to understand where the conmfig ended up. I also realize what the customize now means. I read about it but missed the context.

My interpretation is that I can add e.g. sensors via the gui. Then I have two option for customizing them; either in the gui with its limitation or in a cutomize yaml file. Right?

No. At least not directly. You can install/enable integrations which create sensors and other entities.

Sorry for my bad explanation. I meant via integrations. I have found a ZigBee sensor, a IKEA light via integrations in the gui.

Yes. So you enabled either Zigbee Home Integration (ZHA), deCONZ, Zigbee2MQTT, Philips Hue or MQTT (with dedicated Zigbee2MQTT installation) and they created devices with entities.

Sorry, who was that last post meant for ?
This is your topic so you get notifications on all postings.