Where/How to start? Building blueprint/integration for REST-based sensors and notifications

Hey everyone,

I’m not really a developer, but I’d still like to understand how to create the following, maybe I’ll be able to pull it off anyway:

At the moment I have 2-3 RESTful sensors set up, which provide both sensor values pulled from certain fields in the JSON result sets from public APIs, and are then the base for notifications.

example code:

- platform: rest
    name: "mywellness this month"
    unique_id: "mywellness this month"
    scan_interval: 3600
    resource_template: https://buchen.mywellness.de/api/customer-app/v1/suite-availability-days?month={{ now().strftime('%Y-%m') }}&day_time=09%3A00-01%3A00&capacity=2&duration=02%3A00&outlet_ids[]=7&suite_type[]=1&suite_type[]=2&suite_type[]=4&suite_type[]=5&suite_type[]=6&suite_type[]=7
    value_template: "{% for days in value_json.availability_days if days.availability_status == 1 %}{% if loop.index == 1 %}Number of days: {{ loop.length }}
Earliest date: {{ days.availability_date }}{% endif %}
{% else %}no dates available
{% endfor %}"

This is so far a completely manual process, and I was wondering how to turn this setup process into a generic blueprint, or an integration, which I can use to add/manage REST endpoints and the derived sensors.

Idea for the userflow so far:

• enter REST endpoint URL
  • list/define datafields to pull in as sensor values (without having to write the template code from scratch)
  • nice to have: directly define notification(s) or other automation triggers based on potential values from those sensor values

Examples for where I’m using this, or an planning to use it:

• the local wellness place has an API which they use to show newly freed-up slots that become available to book
  • a yearly lottery ticket provider has a public endpoint where you can check if your ticket has one something
  • a chain of vaccination centers provides open slots via public API