Which devices fit best with the no-cloud philosophy?

I’m pretty new to home assistant; I have 2 shelly plugs and I read my energy use/production.

For future investments into home automation, I’d like to keep as much as possible to the following principles, which I think are at the basis of home assistant as well (please correct me if I’m wrong!)

• devices should be configurable without connecting to an external cloud service first
  • devices should be usable without connecting to an external cloud service
  • after installing the device (switch/dimmer/sensor) it should still work without being aware of the smartness of home assistant

I’ve set up a separate vlan and wifi ssid which has no dhcp, no gateway to the internet, home assistant is the only way to do something with the device. My home assistant VM is dual homed, so I can access it from the home network (and from outside via haproxy), but devices are unable to connect to the internet.

Last weekend I got myself a WiZ device to try out, but I couldn’t get it to work within this set of restrictions. I may be able to get over the first step if I can be sure the device can be used after the initial installation without any dependency on an external internet connection.

Since I’m new to all this, I’d love to hear about devices that can be most easily used in this kind of setup. I’m aware that ESPhome and similar firmware is a great tool that does exactly this, but apart from the shelly devices, which do seem to fit into my category even without installing ESPhome on it.

I’m wondering if there are more devices that would fit, do you know of some good ones?

Cheers

/Simon

Wired Z-wave switches follow your rules — they work as local dimmers or switches without any need for Home Assistant, and then can do other things if HA is active. You can do similar with Zigbee and directly-paired remotes and lights.