Which node-red home assistant installation?

I have node-red running in a docker container on a Synology box. Then I added a home assistant install in user settings palette. Is the one I installed the right one? I did “node-red-contrib-home-assistant-websocket”. I think this might be an “alpha” version. Should I have installed “node-red-contrib-home-assistant-ws” instead? If so, should I uninstall the one I installed? I think I read there was trouble uninstalling this.

that one, if you look at the ws version you will see it has not been updated in years. 5 years 3 months was the last time it was updated

Yes, I saw that the “ws” one was old, but I thought it might be a really stable version. This “websocket” one says I have to install some sort of custom integration in home assistant and I wasn’t sure about using this one. I’ve never done a custom integration so I will have to figure that out too. I’m a newbie. Plus, I am always wary of “custom” things and whether they are trustworthy.

At least, I apparently don’t have to worry about uninstall this “websocket” one.

You’ll need the hacs companion for certain functionality. You can create an entity, for instance, in nodered and have it show up in home assistant. For that you need the companion.

In general the HA nodes are pretty much fully functional without it.

To add it’s the same dev as the HA websocket nodes.

I’ll have to read up more about hacs, but I think it isn’t obvious how to set up when using a docker container on synology. (no add-ons)

Did you mean to say “HA nodes are NOT pretty much functional without it”? If they are pretty much function without it, why add it? What functionality does it add?

HACS offers a faster update push, meaning it’s faster to get an update out. I presume that functionality is what is most likely to change.