Why are people asking the same questions over and over again? (Or the Regulars' Chatroom) šŸ¤·

Iā€™m just wondering, over the last weeks i noticed people asking for help with their motion sensor controlling lights?

i am just getting a bit tired of answering the same question over and over againā€¦

Why donā€™t people hit the search button??
I know this:
3714c6dc9581d0cd69c7b615457f0c37fe417f14

ā€¦but it is getting a bit ridiculousā€¦

6 Likes

All of the ā€˜Best Hitsā€™ rolled into one post:

Hi I am new so please go easy on me. I am very angry because I have spent hours searching everywhere but canā€™t find an answer. I have many years of IT experience and it shouldnā€™t be this hard. Whatā€™s wrong with the developers?

How do I <insert commonly asked question here>?

BTW, this isnā€™t a rant.
Thx

@aceindy
I can empathize with how you feel but I donā€™t know if thereā€™s a simple solution. My impression is that some users learn about Home Assistant exclusively from what they see in the UI, not what they can read in the official documentation (let alone the community forum).

For example, I think the Numeric State Triggerā€™s behavior is properly explained, in the official documentation and in the UI, yet itā€™s a regularly reported problem due to a commonly held misunderstanding of its operation.

Another common misconception is that an automation waits for a condition to become true. How one arrives at that conclusion puzzles me because I canā€™t find anything in the documentation that even hints that it works like that.

Thatā€™s why I sometimes ask the user what led them to their conclusion about how something works. Sometimes itā€™s simply due to making assumptions and not the fault of documentation or examples (which they never tried to referenced). Not sure how to fix that.

8 Likes

I also donā€™t know ā€˜how to fix itā€™ā€¦i guess it is un-solvable (as the picture shows).