Why are things so difficult?

Hello,

I am new to Home Assistant. I like all of its features and the possibilities seems endless. However, I dont understand why this is such a walled garden?? I ran into several network issues (still not resolved) and it is an extreme pain in the @ss to get those resolved because I have to bend over backwards in order to access the underlying operating system settings. In fact I got so frustrated with it that I gave up and just installed Raspberry OS and then installed Home Assistant on it (a method for which the documentation is a lot harder to find by the way) This immediately solved all my network issues and gave me back total control over the hardware again. Unfortunately it also meant I lost functionality in HA, like the supervisor stuff for instance.

So… why is it made so difficult? What is the idea behind this?

2 Likes

If you want to have Raspberry OS and Supervisor, follow this guide :

4 Likes

Thanks. I will try that.

This is however, another fine example. Difficult.

Please keep in mind that currently this installation method is not officially supported by the Home Assistant team, and therefore you are responsible for updating and managing updates and security on the base OS, no official support will be offered. This install method may cease to work at any time, so use at your own risk.

it does have a bit of a steep learning curve. It is however getting easier and better. a year ago was much more difficult to get started. Once you learn the basics its much more user friendly.

Im in over a year, and still learning new stuff almost every time I play with my setup (daily.)

2 Likes

I have been a Node-Red user for several years now, even developed and extended a few custom nodes there. Node-Red feels a lot more open and more accessible but unfortunately its dashboard functionality is too limited ( and too slow) so I went looking at HA. Again, because I already tried last year and then almost immediately gave up.