Why can’t we have UI like these? Quite inspiring!

Some of my picks from 2016 post https://medium.com/p/617311d96303

I noticed a few common details that make these UIs look incredible:

• More space creates a natural clean look.
• No cells but soft dividers (or just space).
• Gradients and glows!
• Big functional icons / states. Small labels.
• Flat + shadows.

You could probably overwrite some CSS and make Lovelace look very similar :slight_smile: Maybe in a custom theme.

1 Like

Can already be done with Lovelace.

2 Likes

A few comments on this:

1. YES! I would love to have a meaningful display with elements like these!
  2. As a UI/UX designer I have to say - treat these images with a little scepticism. I see these sorts of things from young folks trying to build a resume or just trying to get noticed. You’ll see these UI’s fall apart when things like workflow, interaction design and unit re-usability get examined. Whilst the artwork might look like it would be a nice treatment for icons and imagery - ask yourself - how do these portray subsequent UI elements - modals, wizards etc? How can the interaction work?
  3. For the folks saying lovelace can do it - yeah, maybe it can - but you can’t readily “do it” as many of the items pictured require an artist (for concepts) + UI designer (for UI/UX and workflow) + frontend developer to make lovelace items to cater for the niche interactions required.

Don’t get me wrong - can you imagine the time when we get to that point? It’ll be great!

16 Likes

If you told me this was Lovelace based I wouldn’t be surprised.

Get a friend who are strong in CSS and I think you could get very very close.

1 Like

That’s actually really interesting. I used to spend way to much time on uimovement.com.
The stuff on their is beautiful but probably impractical, like you suggest.

not really still to restrictive with cards breaking on updates so no we cant have UIs like that yet…

1 Like

What does this mean?

1 Like