Why can't I pair Nano leaf essentials bulbs with HomeKit controller?

Hello all. I will start by saying I am a total noob when it comes to home assistant. However, I’m excited to learn how all this stuff works. So any help or guidance is greatly appreciated.
This is what I have done so far:
I installed home assistant via docker on a raspberry pi4. I followed the instructions to pair the bulb (added it via apple home, checked it was connected using thread via the nanoleaf app. It is. I then removed the accessory from the home app.
Home assistant then discovers the bulb and asks if I want to add it via home kit controller.
I click configure, it thinks for a while, then says “An unhandled error occurred while attempting to pair with this device. This may be a temporary failure or your device may not be supported currently:”
I try to enter the HomeKit pairing code (with the dashes) but it just shows the same screen and says “An unhandled error occurred while attempting to pair with this device. This may be a temporary failure or your device may not be supported currently:”
The log says this:

Pairing attempt failed with an unhandled exception
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/usr/local/lib/python3.10/site-packages/aiohomekit/controller/coap/connection.py”, line 290, in do_pair_setup
response = await self.pair_setup_client.request(request).response
asyncio.exceptions.CancelledError

During handling of the above exception, another exception occurred:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/usr/src/homeassistant/homeassistant/components/homekit_controller/config_flow.py”, line 491, in async_step_pair
self.finish_pairing = await discovery.async_start_pairing(self.hkid)
File “/usr/local/lib/python3.10/site-packages/aiohomekit/controller/coap/discovery.py”, line 57, in async_start_pairing
salt, srpB = await self.connection.do_pair_setup(
File “/usr/local/lib/python3.10/site-packages/aiohomekit/controller/coap/connection.py”, line 289, in do_pair_setup