Wifi Hotspot on phone interfering with Location Tracking

I’m having an issue getting accurate locations to report to HA from my android phone when my phone has Wifi Hotspot enabled.

I think turning on Wifi Hotspot is messing up Google’s Fused Location API by preventing it scanning wifi, so all the location updates are being discarded by the HA app for having rubbish accuracy (about 1500m, if I’m reading the logs right).

My issue is I always use Wifi Hotspot when I’m driving, which is when I want my location to be accurately updated!

I’m not a HA expert at all, but after reading the docs I’ve thought of a few possible solutions and wanted to run them past people to see which they think is best.

A) Set the app to enable High Accuracy mode when connected to my car’s bluetooth. Simple, but I don’t actually USE the bluetooth in my car so it’s another thing I’d have to turn on manually.

B) Include “single accurate location” in sensor updates. I don’t know if I fully understand how this works, but I think it would force a GPS location update every 15 minutes?

C) Create an automation in Home Assistant to ping my phone with ‘request_location_update’ every so often when it detects I am not connected to my home wifi.

D) Possibly do something with tasker to enable High Accuracy Location when my phone’s hotspot is on? Haven’t looked into this much.

I’d love to hear about other possible solutions too. Ideally looking for something that just works without interaction but doesn’t kill my battery life too much. Thanks!

So I do something like that. What I do is this:

1. When I’m traveling (more on this in a second) turn on high accuracy mode. Turn off when done
  2. When high accuracy mode isn’t on I request a location update every 30 minutes.