WIFI Switches/ Retrofit or Standalone Sockets

Can anybody recommend a WIFI switch that is compatible with HA and supports turning on/off Boiler system ( would require higher Amps guess 10A is fine ) . Looked at sonoff module but I dont think the module fits behind the socket . I dont mind changing the whole socket if there is good cheap product that works well with HA . I ordered though the sonoff Wall socket ( 2A ) module that is neat to install but i guess this will tolerate only lighting on/off I guess. I hope it will work with HA …I guess it needs soldering and flashing

Hi,

By “boiler”, are you referring to an electric kettle or your water heater?

Hi Am reffering to the HVAC system of the house . heating delivered thru radiators in every room .

Well, I’m no expert, that’s for sure, and I don’t know how your current system is wired, but I’m going to assume that this boiler draws a significant amount of power (most probably over 10A) and should have its own line in the main power electrical panel of the house. If that’s the case, then my approach would be to get a simple Sonoff basic and connect that to a contactor and from that power the boiler. The sonoff should be flashed with the Tasmota firmware, which adds MQTT support to it and works fine with HA. I have a similar setup for my water heater (which can draw up to 4KW) and it works just fine.

Thanks for your reply. Actually the whole system is currently controlled from one button (on/off) switch with a rating of 10Amps regular switch. Its just a matter of sending an on/off command to close the circuit in order to turn on the main system which is located in the main building… since the sonoff basic is a bit big to fit behind a socket. I guess i will need to install it inside the main breaker panel.