Windows 10 Installation

Hi

I just installed Python 3.6 a on Win 10 Pro machine
Then I typed the following on the console:

$ pip3 install homeassistant
$ hass --open-ui

But I dont see anything else appear except a localhost on browser with the modules of python etc
I watched the Win 10 video but the speaker went straight into cmd and assumed homeautomation was installed

How do I get things right?

Sorry … I am just a beginner.
Thanks in advance

1 Like

Did you open the browser to http:\\localhost or http:\localhost:8123? The latter is the correct one.

Hi
When you click on Python 3.6 Module Docs it defaults to localhost:53509
Its just lists all the modules but there is no Home Assistance page etc

Install the 32 bit version rather than the 64 bit version; I forget what it is but one of the modules doesn’t work right under the 64 bit version. Somethng went wrong in your install somewhere as HA should always respond on port 8123.

You may want to read up on doing it as a Docker install - back when I was running this on Windows, I found out about it after and wished I had done it that way.

Ok I just found under Win 10 apps, the main Python 32 bit version, not the Docs
I then type " pip3 install homeassistant
hass --open-ui

after the >> symbol but its flags incorrect syntax

I have no experience with Docker so I dont think I can take that route :slight_smile:

After you entered the command py -m pip -install homeassistant, did you see something like this on your screen?

Wow

You are so helpful!! I am really grateful

Its nearly 2 am here in Singapore so I am going to bed.

Will try it out tomorrow

I think I can see whats wrong. I never did install HA under python.

Will do what you propose and revert if I have any problems

Thanks once again .

1 Like