Wireless Doorbell Speaker: How to detect if it's playing/has power (and for how long?)

Hi,

I am replacing my existing smart doorbell system due to it being unreliable and I think the wiring that runs in the walls to the buttons is broken somewhere as it works intermittently at best. I have bought a cheap wireless doorbell from my local hardware store that runs on 3 C batteries and has two chimes (one for the front and one for the back door) and I have two buttons. There is no LED; only a speaker. Is it possible for an ESP8266 to read when there is power going to a speaker and for how long? Ex. If it can read there is power for only xx milliseconds; then it is the front door. If it reads power for xx seconds; it is the back door?

I’m completely new to ESPhome as I haven’t really needed to program in Arduino (outside of 3D printer firmware) for a couple of years now so i’m a little rusty.

Thanks,

Aren’t doorbells usually 433Mhz? Why not detect the button push that way?

Not too sure what you mean there.

As @nickrout is saying, the wireless door might mostly be using 433Mhz radio frequency signals to communicate between the switches and the bell speaker unit. Since there are two remotes, they both will be transmitting different codes to the speaker unit when they are pressed. This can be detected by using a Rf reciever module connected to esp8266. For this purpose you can use either esphome or tasmota. Just check out these links

https://tasmota.github.io/docs/RF-Transciever/

This would be the best way to detect when the switches without even opening the speaker unit. it will also be reliable.

If you want to go for any of the shelf kind of solution, you can buy sonoff rf bridge.

Also please first verify that the device uses 433mhz, it should be mentioned on the device or the packaging.

Or https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/rfxtrx/

Hi @nickrout and @sheminasalam