Working on HomeKit Docker MAC workaround

Hi guys,

I’m quite new to the whole home-assistant running in docker for Mac thing…

I figured out that het HomeKit component dousn’t function on the Home-assistant on docker for Mac installation due to how docker for Mac is constructed… (docker environment is as I understand a Virtual Machine on its own) due to this and the restrictions on network interfacing trough this VM to the Mac environment the —net=host command dousn’t function because that links to the VM network in between docker and the Mac host.

I’m trying to get my head around this problem and try to figure out a solution. So any thoughts or feedback are more than welcome!

The thoughts running in my head at the moment are to use the VPN passtrough to let the docker environment connect to a VPN socket on my Sophos UTM and let it join my main automation network from there.

This so HomeKit and the auto discovery are directly looking in the Automation network environment.

Call me crazy :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes: i’m definitely not an expert on this matter so please any feedback or thoughts are more then welcome!

I running to the same problem, also for Nmap (network scan) and for USB devices like zwave controller. For zwave I switched to a VeraEdge as hub, who also can readout my DSMR.

It’s an issue with docker on mac, also for the Hue component if I remember correctly. I’m running docker in a virtual machine on mac to overcome this problem. Seems like an overkill but it works and is very stable.

My Hue is working fine here and also VeraEdge is through LAN and working fine.

That is why i wrote “if I remember correctly” :wink: Anyway there was a component I’m using which needed the network: host option which is not available on docker for mac.

1 Like

bumping this - anyone solved it yet?

I might revert back to homebridge for that functionality but it’d be nice to have it on HASS.