Wyze Cams using wz_mini_hacks, go2rtc RTSP, motion detection, and two-way audio. Sorta

I’m running Home Assistant in Docker for a little over a year at this point. I got sick of writing little isolated scripts trying to connect different smart devices and would have started sooner if I realized how much HA can glue it all together.

I’ve been using Wyze Cams for a few years now. I started with some V2 cams using one of the earlier RTSP beta firmware versions. At some point I added a few more V3 cams. I’m up to about a half-dozen of each and one Pan V1.

RTSP was always clunky, but worked fine in iSpy where I used it primarily. When I added the cameras to Home Assistant it bothered me that the audio channel didn’t work right, but it wasn’t a show-stopper. I could always just pop open the Wyze app on my phone if I really needed audio.

Over the past couple months I’ve been playing with wz_mini_hacks and found that by switching to go2rtc audio worked. It also loaded the camera feeds faster since wz_mini_hacks provides a snapshot URL. I played with the cmd waitMotion to do area detection within Home Assistant, initially via API, and now via an Automation Webhook. Everything says two-way audio doesn’t work with the Wyze cams out of the box.

I noticed though that I could do cmd aplay, isn’t that sort-of two-way audio? I played with converting files to proper low quality .wav format and could trigger those via script. Then played with the file pipe (mkfifo) method listed in the wiki.

I figured out I could use the gstreamer configuration to configure a media_player in Home Assistant that writes out to a fifo. Now I have HA writing to a fifo in Docker:

media_player:
  - platform: gstreamer
    name: 'tts'
    pipeline: "audioresample ! audioconvert ! audio/x-raw,rate=8000,channels=1,format=S16LE ! wavenc ! filesink location=/media/voice/snapcast_gstreamer"

and cmd aplay listening to a fifo on the cam

cmd aplay /opt/wz_mini/tmp/stream 50 2> /dev/null &