Xiaomi Treadmill/WalkingPad Integration

Xiaomi Treadmills and WalkingPads connect via WiFi using MiHome app
It would be really nice to fire automations based on treadmills/walking pads states and speed

I’m not experienced in building Home Assistant integrations, but it looks like it would be pretty easy for someone with former experience to build it using this SDK: ph4r05/ph4-walkingpad: WalkingPad python controller (github.com).

This custom component now supports it ! :tada:

Have you been able to get it working?
Doesn’t work for me

We have a Newgen Medicals treatmill for practicing walking mediation and are looking for a way to calibrate and control the treadmill. There are now excellent treadmill speed sensors for treadmills available and also treadmill calibration methods with high speed video cameras, as we have reviewed here:

https://petergamma.org/how-can-we-get-the-most-accurate-readings-from-a-treadmill/

It should be possible to connect some of the components over the Android app a Training tracker to Strava and from there to Home Assistant and InfluxDB. But we eventually have to replace the treadmill with a KingSmith WalkingPad A1, because there is Python support for it:

We are very interested in this project. There are excellent components here like treadmill sensors, calibration methods, Python controlled treadmills, etc.

The job is to put all these components together and create a great device with many options. There are a lot of Peloton treadmills available, but they are complicated and expensive. The options listed here are are an affordable alternative, which might be interesting for many people.

We are interested in such devices on the long term, and we are convinced to find a community here. But it might be a lifetime journey, since development in the field of sports sensor devices is very slow.