Yet another Samba share problem - Solved

Hi all

I have read MANY threads on this tyopic and tried all of them.

I am running homeassistant on a raspberry pi using 2022.3.4

I have been using the system for several years and have lots of devices and integrations.

Some time back Samba share stopped letting me connect. Still fails.

I have turned on the file and print sharing, added the windows components, etc, etc.

I can ping \192.168.x.xxx and it works
I can ping homeassistant and it resolves to my HA IP address

It shows all other network devices via my network browsing but does NOT show HOMEASSISTANT
Nor will it let me access it by IP address or by mapping a drive.

In every attempt, it is telling me that the problem is:
The device (homeassistant) is not set up to accept connectioins on the port “The file and printer sharing (SMB)”

I DO havbe File and Print sharing turned on.

OIt seems that it is HA, not windows that is blocking it.

When I start Samba, the log shows that it starts without error

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Someone reported today that disabling wifi on the pi fixed it for them.

My Pi is connected by cable. How do I disable the wifi?
If I unplug the ethernet cable, I can no longer access the pi so maybe wifi is already disabled?
But my computer is on wifi rather than ethernet cable.

Supervisor / System / Host box, then the IP Address CHANGE link then expand IPv4

You should see Wifi and ethernet options (I have no wifi adaptor in my hardware):

Thankls for the tip.
I learned something new. :slight_smile:
But for some reason, it will not le me make any changes.
'I am logged on as the administrator and I can do most other things.

It DOES let me change the ETH0 settings. I tried turning off IP6.
But it didn’t change anything.

Thiis is the error that network diagnostics always returns.

And for those still followinmg, I DO have SMB 1.0 Client enabled

And my computer is named with workgroup = WORKGROUP