Z-Wave Help: Dead Nodes

Hi everyone,

I am new to HA but pretty much love it. Have made my way around so far. Only Z-Wave gives me headaches in several respects. My main issue is that I have added and subsequently reset some devices without intending to. After including them correctly, I am now stuck with these dead nodes that (obviously) will never get in touch with HA again. Everything else works fine, but Z-Wave never fully comes up and is probably busy trying to connect to these dead nodes. I would really love to avoid setting up all devices from scratch.

Can anyone point me to a easy to follow step by step procedure how to get rid of these nodes again?

My configuration:
Raspberry Pi 3 with Razberry module
Hassio 0.62.1

This is what the nodes look like:

Any help would be highly appreciated!

I have a similar setup. I have used customize to hid the in-used z-wave items.

You may be able to add everything that is on the z-wave card to a group and then hide the card, on my setup I donā€™t do anything on that card, all control is done else where.
2018-02-01_14-06-05

1 Like

Yes, thanks. That way at least I would not have to see and bother about them. But I would really prefer to clean them up instead. I suspect they slow my installation, especially start-up big time. And as I said, Z-Wave is never really ā€˜readyā€™. Not sure if that has implications but still.

you should be able to go to the zwave control panel in the configuration area and remove dead nodes.

it only works if they are defined as dead in the attributes tho. if they donā€™t show as ā€œid_dead: trueā€ or something like that then they wonā€™t be removed.

if all else fails you may have to unpair everything from your controller, reset it to factory and re-add your nodes to get it all cleaned up again.

The key attribute is is_failed: true - only if that is shown will Remove Failed Node work.