Z-Wave Node & Values naming tips?

I’m struggling a bit with my setup.
I’m quite new to this whole home automation thingy. I’ve got Hass running, added an Aeon Z-wave USB stick and ordered a shitload of different Z-Wave products to play with.

The first thing I notice is the Z-Wave node & value names… I started renaming them but got stuck pretty soon in ordering those neatly. How do you guys “name” your nodes/values? Do you use a scheme for it?

I started off with: <room>_<description>

Which resulted in:

• attic_nightstand_frenck
  • attic_nightstand_daphne

Now I wanted to add some PIR sensors… so that did not make any sense in this scheme.
So I changed to: <room>_<type>_<description>

Which resulted in:

• attic_switch_nightstand_frenck
  • attic_switch_nightstand_daphne

But then it becomes: livingroom_pir_...?

Problems with this scheme are that these z-wave devices provide more. This PIR sensor for example also provides me LUX information. And I have not even touched the node value namings yet…

Any tips? How do you name your z-wave devices?