ZHA ConBee II Source Routing

I noticed in the Phoscon release notes for 2.8.0, support for Source Routing.

Is this something that ZHA can already (or does already) take advantage of? Looks like an interesting idea.

Seems like an interesting new option to improve stability and interop of zigbee network. I am still learning here, but there does seem to be some signifiant issues with routing operation at the device level. So having routing setup done at a higher level might be able to overcome some of these interoperation issues where firmware at the device level is not being updated to fix. I note that this beta only works for routers and not end devices, from what I am seeing a lot of the current problems are with end devices not being able to route via routers that are not of same manufacture. So, I am not sure if this beta release will address these end device problems. Will be interesting to see peoples experiences. I am using ZHA, but cannot speak for what the developers of this platform are planning. From my experience trying to mix devices from different manufactures on ZHA, the current release does have significant problems with many mixes of devices. And no way that I can find to tell if you will have a problem until you add devices and see what happens.

ZHA supports source routing, at least for some implementations. For example, ZHA with ezsp (Ember) devices like the HUSBZB-1, Sonoff ZBBridge, Elelabs, and others, support this.

You need to add at a minimum a few lines in your configuration.yaml to enable it. The main variable to set is CONFIG_SOURCE_ROUTE_TABLE_SIZE which must be set to a number larger than the number of devices you have connected or plan to connnect, but not a number that is too large since it wastes the limited memory on the Zigbee chip. I use a simple formula to determine that…

table_size = (connected devices) + (pending devices) + 10.