Zigbee, Home Assistant and Google Home

Seeing as my WiFi is filling quickly with smart devices I am starting to use Zigbee. I’m a bit of a noob at all this but in a past life was a techie so you can be a bit rough with me :slight_smile:

I am trying to achieve a network of mixed WiFi and Zigbee devices from different manufacturers, all on the Home Assistant (on a Pi) but controllable by voice through Google Assistant - and ideally each with it’s own manufacturer app for Android (but the HA app would do). The voice control is the critical bit. And it needs to be reasonably easy to set up and maintain. :slight_smile:

The WiFi side is fine but I am struggling to find a Zigbee bridge/hub which can do that for me. Or maybe it’s just the way I am configuring it.

I have now got a Sonoff ZBBridge flashed with Tasmota, a Sonoff Zigbee 2 Dongle Plus, and I just bought a Conbee II. They all run under ZHA on the HA and I have had stuff working with them all - but I don’t see how I can make them work in Google Home.

Am I just being incredibly stupid or is there no way to do it? Or should I be approaching it from a different angle? I do not want to be tied to one manufacturer (which, I think, rules out the SmartThings hub)

Thanks for reading - any advice will be gratefully received.

If you connect Google Home with Nabu casa (or HA manually) then sync devices in Google app all entities that you expose will be visible in Google Home.

1 Like

If you are able to integrate all devices into home assistant, you can integrate home assistant with google home and all your home assistant devices will be available over smart speaker.

So, from google integration perspective, it doesn’t matter if it is zigbee or wifi, it’s home assistant’s responsibility to execute the incoming command.

To integrate home assistant into google home, you have two options; 1/ use nabu casa and it is instantly ready 2/ take the challenge of DIY and go through steps to integrate it manually