Zigbee setup with HA - newbee!

Hi all. I am new to all this and I am struggling A LOT.

I have a raspberry-pi 4b with a 125gb ssd with HA installed, and a conbee3 stick connected to it. I have tried using deconz and also zigbee2mqtt (always uninstalling the other when trying one), and I still haven’t managed to connect any zigbee devices. I initially thought it was a problem with the devices I had, since I’ve read that Aqara has lots of issues with zigbee… but I am now trying BSEED switches and I’m running into the same issue: I can’t pair!

Could someone please help me out?

I tried:

• Aqara wireless smart mini switch
  • Aqara door/window sensor
  • BSEED 3 gang 1 way wall switch

I can get the two first ones to flash their light, but I can’t see them on HA. The third one, I can’t even get to flash constantly red… it flashes twice and LEDs go off and then back up… Unsure if I just buy shit sensors, or whether there’s a problem with the conbee stick… how can I know it’s working properly?

Thanks

UPDATE! I fixed this issue following the link in the comments, there was interference caused by the SDD being connected to the USB3.0 which was affecting my conbee III stick connected to USB2.0

All sorted and working. Thanks all for the advice :slight_smile:

If you’re using the Z2M integration you need to have MQTT - you don’t mention that…

1 Like

Which one are you using now? (ignore previous config)

Is the stick connected directly to the Pi or do you have an extension cord.

What does the log say?

Start by following all the tips here regardless of Zigbee Gateway used as both EMF interference and lack of Zigbee Router devices can prevent you from pairing/joining any device → Zigbee networks: how to guide for avoiding interference + optimizing using Zigbee Router devices (repeaters/extenders) to get best possible range and coverage

3 Likes

Let’s start from the basics. Are you clicking Permit Join in Z2MQTT when starting the pairing process?