Zigbee TRV Recomendations?

I’m new to Home Assistant and home automation. After being unimpressed with Hive smart TRVs I thought about getting some Zigbee ones and building something that actually works.

I bought one Moes TS0601 to see what they’re like before going all in and buying 6 or 8 of them, and so far I’m fairly unimpressed with that. The buttons on the device are pretty unconvincing and don’t work half the time, and the device seems to do what it wants (I’ve got the most basic automation set up to turn it on in a morning and off at night).

I’m looking for plain Zigbee TRVs supported by Zigbee2MQTT.

What TRVs do you have and how do you like them? Would you buy them again?

Everything Smart Home has some reviews.

I bought a single Aqara E1 to test, and it works as expected. I particularly like that it supports an external temperature sensor since the on-board sensor is always going to give you false readings.

I plan on buying some more for the other rooms where it makes sense to use them (those rooms that spend a meaningful part of the heating cycle unoccupied).

1 Like

I have those from moes. They are oke for my usage. I want to have a trv that will shutdown the radiator when temperature is x. They are working flawlessly for that. I want explain again why I want that, it will be a long post.

But you know…how much money that much quality and features.
It mostly depends on what you wanna do with those valves.

Yes, the price of the Moes was the main draw for me, almost half the price of most other brands. I’m not interested in fancy functionality either, just the basics and then control it through HA.

Its not the brad, its just a tuya valves. You bought the cheapest ones.

Basic functionality for smart trv is to turn on boiler or furnace if you can set it up to work with it. But many of them have a built in programs so you don’t need trv for that.