Zigbee2mqtt device(s) not appearing in hass

I’m a bit new to home assistant and all it’s magic. I’ve been working on and off on automating certain things at home. I recently bought a zigbee usb stick, flashed it with zigbee2mqtt firmware and installed the zigbee2mqtt addon. I’ve install mosquitto mqtt broker and all that works fine (atleast as far as I can tell).

I have had success pairing a device to the zigbee2mqtt usb stick, zigbee2mqtt is sending it’s sensor values according to the zigbee2mqtt log:

zigbee2mqtt:info 3/22/2019, 11:00:17 PM MQTT publish: topic ‘zigbee2mqtt/0x00158d0002d7781f’, payload ‘{“temperature”:23.48,“linkquality”:70,“humidity”:50.44,“pressure”:1024}’

But I cannot find the device in home assistant.

zigbee2mqtt configuration.yaml:

devices:
  '0x00158d0002d7781f':
    friendly_name: '0x00158d0002d7781f'
    retain: false
homeassistant: true
mqtt:
  base_topic: zigbee2mqtt
  server: mqtt://homeassistant
permit_join: true
serial:
  disable_led: true
  port: /dev/ttyACM0

Am I missing something in a config?

Edit: I am running home assistant version 0.89

There are two ways for Home Assistant to consume the information produced by zigbee2mqtt.

Automatic discovery
There’s an option in zigbee2mqtt to have it publish the sensor data in a way that Home Assistant will detect and automatically add (to the entity registry) as new sensors.

Manual
You define each sensor manually in the configuration file. This is more work but gives you complete control over each sensor’s definition.

If you’re not currently using either method, the sensors will not appear in Home Assistant.

Someone else using zigbee2mqtt recently required fine-grained control over the sensor’s definition so I suggested they use the manual-configuration approach:

Thank you for your reply, I appreciate that.

I will look into doing it the manual way, sounds like a better option because of the control it offers.