Zigbee2mqtt scenes into HA

I’ve read a lot of documentation on getting zigbee2mqtt scenes to work in HA however it seems to have a changed over time and I am having no luck - I know the zigbee scenes are faster and more efficient than if I build them in HA but unable to get them across. Sorry if I’m missing something very obvious, I’m fairly new to HA and zigbee2mqtt. Thanks for any help

1 Like

Welcome!

If you can post your Home Assistant yaml and zigbee2mqtt MQTT JSON that you are using / seeing published to zigbee2mqtt by HA, that would help folks understand your question. The program MQTTExplorer is a useful tool to see MQTT data being published. Make sure to use the ‘markup’ tags when you post this information, so that it gets formatted in a way that is accurate. Indents, spaces and such can make a difference, especially in YAML data.

I’m not sure that zigbee2mqtt ‘scenes’ are faster than Home Assistant Automations, maybe in very complex and large combos of zigbee devices. Can you describe the zigbee devices you are trying to control and their numbers?

At the lowest level, zigbee groups and endpoints are the best you can do for performance and synchronization. Note this is a zigbee function, not a zigbee2mqtt function. However zigbee2mqtt does allow you to create/modify and control these zigbee functions.

https://www.zigbee2mqtt.io/guide/usage/groups.html#mqtt-commands

Good hunting!

Late reply. Found this when googling for a solution to list all scenes for a group in zigbee2mqtt (did not find any solution).
The scenes you create in Z2M are available to use in NodeRED. I recommend using that instead of HA scenes and HA Automations. A lot easier since it’s more visual.