ZWave help

Just giving HassIO a try for the first time. I have things up and running, but zwave is not working.

I see in the logs something like: “zwaveusbstick not found”.

in my configuration.yaml I have:

zwave:
  usb_path: /dev/ttyACM0

I’ve tried with and without usb_path.

my stick is the Aeon labs one, works fine with Hassbian.

I’m totally new with Docker. I think I get the basic concept, but I don’t understand the details (yet).

I’ve configured SSH, and can SSH in, but when I do, I appear to be within some other docker image or something? ie, no /home/homeassistant dir, nothing in /dev/tty* etc

So… How do I configure my zwave? or how to I get to my docker image from my ssh terminal? Or what am I missing here?

Have you confirmed that you have the usb_path right? It can change if you plug in to a different port on your Pi. Run

ls /dev/ttyACM*

I rebooted my pi, and now it appears zwave is being detected.

BTW, what is the right way to reboot this now from the ssh terminal?

yeah, the

ls /dev/tty*

shows just

/dev/tty

but, as I said, that part is working now… I need to understand this whole docker thing much better…

working with:

zwave:
  usb_path: /dev/ttyACM0
2 Likes

You see this device only from base system or homeassistant docker.

That’s sort of what I figured… But how do I get into the base system, or the HomeAssistant Docker?

I’m sure this is noob stuff - if you can point me to some links I’m happy to read…

Thanks

Docker blocks access to USB devices by default. Recommend visiting

https://docs.docker.com/engine/reference/run/#runtime-privilege-and-linux-capabilities

and searching the page for “–privileged” and “–device”. Note: the “–privileged” switch is only recommended for troubleshooting because it bypasses a lot of security features. Once you know that it’s an access issue, stop using “–privileged” and define access to the USB device with the “–device” switch.