ZWave-JS - Sending value to dimmable switch Everspring AD147

Hi there, I’m new to HA, come from Z-Wave.me.
Successfully installed HA on a Py4 with a Razberry addon card, and zwave_js. Works fine!
Have started integrating devices and automations.
I also tried HACS to add a better looking multi entities for switch and lights.

For custom automation, I need to send specific values to dimm the light as wanted.
I’m struggling with a (multilevel?) switch: Everspring AD147 (dimmable light switch).

I checked on the forum: There are some posts with Everspring AD147, but doesn’t match my problem.

• The device is perfectly recognized by HA => I’m able to play with it in dashboard with the standard “light card” => on/off + slider.
  • The standard automation propose to send value, but the slider is sticked to 255.
  • I tried with YAML, same.
  • I tried by using “service” rather than the GUI embedded actions => z-wave.set_config_parameter, z-wave.set_value, etc.
    Each time, the log says it’s not possible to send other value than 255???
    Error while executing automation …: Node(node_id=31) - InvalidNewValue: Must provide a value within the target range (Min: 255, Max: 255)

Documentation from the manufacturer says it’s possible to send values from 0x00 to 0x63 (dimming) AND 0xFF (full light straigth), but not just 0xFF.

When I change dimming through the standard light card, Zwave API is able to send these values:
Node 031 REQ SendData
transmit options: 0x25
callback id: 173
MultilevelSwitchCCSet
target value: 59
duration: default

Am I missing something? Thx for any clue.

You typically control lights with the light integration services, which is what the light card is doing, e.g. light.turn_on with brightness or brightness_pct attributes. There’s no need to use low-level Z-Wave services (like zwave_js.set_value), unless there’s something non-standard with the device, or a feature not supported natively by HA.

1 Like

Hello freshcoast, thx for your reply.