ZWave JS with Aeotec Z-Stick S2

I’m new to Home Assistant but not new to Z-Wave as I had my own custom home automation software using OpenZWave for many years. I’m now using HA and ZWave JS and am having some issues. I’ve got about 78 Z-Wave devices with another 15 ready to be added/configured. My controller is a Z-Stick S2 and is probably from around when they came out.

My main issue right now is that my three Yale YDR110-ZW-US locks weren’t working securely in HA. I had an issue with my network key (somehow it was working in my old system with an errant “Q” in the hex). I was able to remove and re-add one of them and it works, but the others have been quite difficult. I’ve tried adding one about 15 times now and it won’t get added securely since it takes about 3 minutes between starting to add and doing the S0 security when only 15 seconds is allowed. I’m not sure how it worked the one time, but it does take quite a while to add non-secure nodes even just doing so by pressing the button on the stick. Should I just keep trying? I have the lock basically sitting on top of the usb stick and it has freshly charged batteries. Here’s a log of failing to add one securely:

2021-11-04T04:05:49.145Z CNTRLR   Starting inclusion process with strategy Default...
2021-11-04T04:05:49.178Z CNTRLR   handling add node request (status = Ready)
2021-11-04T04:05:49.179Z CNTRLR     the controller is now ready to add nodes
2021-11-04T04:05:54.497Z CNTRLR   handling add node request (status = NodeFound)
2021-11-04T04:05:54.628Z CNTRLR   handling add node request (status = AddingSlave)
2021-11-04T04:07:19.711Z CNTRLR   stopping inclusion process...
2021-11-04T04:07:20.726Z CNTRLR   Failed to execute controller command after 1/3 attempts. Scheduling next try in 100 ms.
2021-11-04T04:07:21.837Z CNTRLR   Failed to execute controller command after 2/3 attempts. Scheduling next try in 1100 ms.
2021-11-04T04:08:17.265Z CNTRLR   handling add node request (status = Done)