Zwave light switch stopped working

Have a zwave switch that shows up as: n-Wall Paddle Switch, 300S (45609 / ZW4001) by GE.
Zwave JS UI is not running so clicked on the button to start it and got the message:
Error starting the add-on
I have a Zooz 700 S2 USB zwave stick that has been working. It just stopped working what I was away for some days on a trip. We may have had a power interruption but it has restarted ok previously.
What should I be looking for to get it working and prevent this from reoccuring? I’m a newbie with HA.

Try powering the hardware off and then unplug/replug the Zooz stick back in and power it all back on. What hardware are you running HA on?

I could do that and it would probably fix the issue. But I don’t like the fact that it just unexpectedly fails and would like to keep that from happening again. So thinking it would be better to do some digging to see if I can determine why it happened before rebooting.

I am running it on a Dell Optiplex 7040 with Ubuntu in Virtual box. HA is running - it just doesn’t switch the lights. I don’t have any other zwave items yet but suspect if I had any other zwave items they wouldn’t be working - just a wild guess.

Is “log to file” enabled in z-wave js UI? If yes you can read the last log file. you can find it in the “Store” menu of z-wave js UI (store/logs/z-ui_(date).log

That would be a good start to understand what happened.

If you can unplug/re-plug and it works it tells us something. If it doesn’t work it tells us something else.

I’ve been able to resolve a similar issue with a Zigbee stick on a RPi4 by doing that.

I’m running HA on an Intel NUC under Proxmox, and several times after an update to Z-Wave JS UI all of my Z-Wave devices went offline, and no amount of unplug/replug or power-cycling the hardware resolved it. In my case the pass-through of the USB port in Proxmox needed re-configured because the port changed after the update.