15.6" wall mounted touch panel project

Hi all!

I am new to this community, and this is my first build. It all started with a kitchen rebuild, where we also had to replace a few walls. This gave me the idea for a wall display monitor in my kitchen for my smart devices, which could double as an information panel for relevant stats like weather and time.

Where this project came from

In the beginning, I only had a few smart devices; for my heater, and some lights here and there. I always planned on expanding on this, and this was the time to go big :blush:

I started with research, which had a HUGE snowball effect on what initially started as something fairly simple. Up until a few weeks ago, I managed my lights and my heating in their respective apps, and never gave it much thought.

This display I wanted should consolidate everything on one place. I didn’t want to swap between apps. This is where Home Assistant came into view.

When I started this project, I had zero experience with Raspberry products, Home Assistant, GitHub, or any coding whatsoever. Sounds like a good plan to just dive in and see where I can go.

Where I started

I started experimenting with Home Assistant first. I found a portable version published by AlexxIT (link here: GitHub - AlexxIT/HassWP: Portable version of Home Assistant for Windows (no need to install) ). This was primarily to take a look at the application, and get a rough idea on how things work. I highly recommend anyone who is looking to start fresh with home assistant to take a look at the portable version.

After getting a rough idea on how things work, I got myself a Pi 4 B and got started on my own Home Assistant server.

My Lovelace overview

• Date card: Vertical stack with
    • A sensor card (sensor.date). Haven’t figured out a way to change this from YYYY-MM-DD to DD-MM-YY
    • A grid card, consisting of two picture cards (presence detection through device tracking by my router) and a time (sensor.time)