433toMQTTto433 Bidirectional Arduino Gateway

*Not sure if this is the right forum

Here is what I built:

I did this for two reasons: 1. A gateway to control the cheap 433mhz Etekcity remotes from Hass and 2. To have the ability to “report” back to Hass when a user pushes the button on the remote.

I currently enjoy controlling the switches from Hass via MQTT, but I don’t know how to get Hass to listen to a MQTT topic (home/433toMQTT) to change the status of the switch.

First hurdle is that the MQTT message going back to Hass is the code being sent by the remote. It’s possible to alter the code on the arduino to “interpret” this data to determine a better response to Hass. But does Hass have the ability to listen to the topic and change the switch to match?

Please forgive me if this is silly question. I’ve been using Hass for about a couple months…

6 Likes

nice project, but it reminds me of myselve when i started.
i got a lot off things working and figured out which were already out there :wink:

already seen mysensors?

if you use mysensors and the rcswitch lib together then you have the mysensors gateway.
advantage from that is that you can use lots of arduinos after that connecting to your gateway.
Hass has already a complete mysensors part with usb, wifi, ethernet and mqtt support so you should have not much problems there to create bidirectional communication with hass.

You can also use the pilight component of home assistant to listen to your Etekcity remote. No need to do this via MQTT. See e.g. this blog post how to setup pilight with your remote.

how do you know if he has a RPI at all? he didnt say that he has one
and if he has one, how do you know he wants to transmit at the same place as where he has his RPI?
maybe he wants his transmitter at a place which cant be reached with the RPI.

so there are lots of things why MQTT might be needed.

True, I misread Arduino for RPi. What I said is not possible with an Arduino.