Adding a second NIC almost worked. Maybe someone can help me figure out where i went wrong?

Hello, sorry for the long post but want to be as detailed as possible…

I have 3 VLANS and devices on 2 of them. one VLAN is all IoT devices. I have a Unifi network and setup the vlans according to videos i watched. I am going to guess this is where the issue will be as i am not very good at networking but good at following guides.

So i setup HA on a VM and started playing with it. it found some devices on its own, others i had to help it. it was odd that it found some devices on my IoT Vlan but not all of them. i was able to add some it missed manually. While trying to figure out why my ecobee thermostat would not be found using homekit controller i thought i had a bright idea… MY HA is a VM so why not add a second NIC and make it be on the IoT Vlan and it should find all my devices it missed.

so i did that and after setting up the NIC and restarting HA it sure enough found devices including my thermostat. but here is the issue… some of the devices i setup manually now would give errors that it could not communicate with them and even the new devices it found i could not finish setting them up even when i was putting in the correct homekit codes.

so i removed the second nic and put everything back the way it was before i started the experiment and restarted HA again. here is kicker #2… when it came back the “broken” devices were working again and the thermostat it couldn’t find before the experiment but showed after i added the NIC, was still there waiting to be configured and this time it took the code.