Aeotec Smart MultiSensor 6 Questions

Hi Guys,

I’m just starting out with Hassbian and home automation in conjunction with Google Home and one of my first Z-Wave devices is the Aeotec Smart MultiSensor 6.

I’ve paired 2 of them with my Vera Edge Hub, calling one “Kitchen” and the other “Entertainment Area” as this is where the sensors will be. Hassbian has recognised them after a reboot which is great.

My first question relates to the dashboard icons. As you can see from this Picture, the icons are called “UV Sensor”, “UV Sensor 1”, “Temperature”, “Temperature 1” etc, with the first one being the Entertainment area, and the ones with the number “1” being the Kitchen sensors (I paired the Entertainment Area one first, rebooted Hassbian, then did the 2nd sensor).

What I would like to be able to do is have the icon read “Kitchen Temperature”, “Entertainment Area UV” etc etc depending on location and what the sensor is (Temp, Humidity, etc).

How do I change the names/titles on the dashboard? I gather it’s something I need to add to the configuration.yaml file but not sure what I need to write.

Thanks in advance.

It likely has to do with the entity_registry.yaml.

When certain types of devices are discovered by HA it creates an entry in the entity registry based on a generic name generated by the node name set up in your z wave controller.

You have two options.

You can manually edit the entity_registry.yaml file to change the device names to what you want.

Or what I like to do is go to the z wave configuration menu in HA and rename the node to something more informative. You should do this anyway just as a matter of course because as your network grows it’s harder to keep track of which devices are which node. Then I rename my old entity_registry.yaml to entity_registry.old and restart HA. at that point HA recreates the entity_registry file again from the new node name information and hopefully you will have better and more usable names.