Alexa Toggle input_boolean

Hello,

Total noob with using Alexa to control home assistant. Any way I can toggle an input boolean? I created one that triggers an automation. I would also be okay with just triggering that automation, but I’d like to be able to change the automation in the future by just editing the yaml file.

Thanks!

I think this is overcomplicated.

Take the action part of the automation and make it in to a script.

Launch the script via Alexa.

But to answer your question…:grinning:

Yes Alexa can control input_booleans.

Can you point me to a place where it instructs how to do this?

you should just simply be able to create the input_boolean and then it will be discovered just like any other entity.

what are you using to expose your HA entities to alexa?

@finity, see, this is where I’m somewhat getting lost. I’m using the cloud, I think? I tried discovering devices and it seemed to only discover 2 groups…Shouldn’t it discover more?

i have no experience using the HA cloud.

I have used both emulated_hue and Haaska.

Both expose pretty much everything to alexa unless you specifically exclude them.

You can do this, and it will be discovered, but in my experience it cannot be controlled. I am struggling with this right now too; Alexa sees the input_boolean, and acts like it can send commands to it, but the value in HA never changes. All my other emulated_hue devices work fine.

So I think I’m probably going the script route too, because those work properly with emulated_hue.

are you using Alexa routines? If you are, make sure you are sending 100% to the input_boolean. I use routines to turn input_booleans on. I then have automations, that include reseting the boolean back to false.

Maybe they don’t work with emulated_hue.

I don’t use it anymore

I use haaska exclusively now.