Amber Electric (Australia) Custom Component

Hi,

This is my first attempt at a HA custom component. This one returns the real-time pricing information for grid and solar feed-in tariff for Amber Electric customers. It will show as a sensor, giving your current price at the main parameter, and the 12 hour forecast is present in the attributes.

Initial testing shows some variability in the data returned from Amber based on geography, so if you run into issues using it please let me know either on Github, or directly on this thread so I can help fix it up.

I’m also open to ideas on how to improve the functions based on usecase.

The code can be found here: https://github.com/lewisbenge/hass-amber-electric and needs to be deployed to your customs component folder, and a postcode entered in your configuration.yaml as per the ReadMe.

Let me know your thoughts!

10 Likes

HACS Support would be great :slight_smile:

4 Likes

This could be a bit of a mess, but I’ve pulled out the last (actual) and next 24 hrs (forecast) to get the average and min/max prices

- platform: template
    sensors:
      amber_general_usage_price_previous_24hr:
        friendly_name: Amber General Usage Price (Previous 24hrs)
        entity_id: sensor.amber_general_usage_price
        unit_of_measurement: 'c/kWh'
        icon_template: mdi:transmission-tower
        value_template: >
          {% set price_forecast = (states.sensor.amber_general_usage_price.attributes["price_forcecast"] | sort(attribute='pricing_period'))[0:48] %}
          {{((price_forecast | sum(attribute='price')) / (price_forecast | length())) | round(2)}}
        attribute_templates:
          period_start: >-
            {% set price_forecast = (states.sensor.amber_general_usage_price.attributes["price_forcecast"] | sort(attribute='pricing_period'))[0:48] %}
            {{as_timestamp((price_forecast | first)['pricing_period']) | timestamp_custom ("%A %-d %b, %H:%M")}}
          period_end: >-