Any AI that can help me out with creating good YAML?

Hello everyone, I’m fairly new to this whole Home Assistant and ESPhome, and my coding skills are utter garbage, so I gave ChatGPT a try along with other LLMs and GPT-4 felt like it gave the best results, but at the end I ran out my queries and have to wait to try again, I’m still getting stuck while verifying the YAML for various reasons. And If I keep querying GPT-3.5 it seems like it just throws stuff at the wall to see what sticks. If you’re curious to see how it went, you can check the chat.

In any case, does anyone have a better tool? Keeping in mind I’m a complete noob. It seems like it’s almost there.

There’s a reason why the following is included in the Community Guidelines.

Both HA and ESPHome update frequently and have huge bodies of configuration examples available online that either never worked or no longer work… the odds massively disfavor an LLM getting anything but the most basic configuration correct.

3 Likes

I’m not a programmer and I’ve been using chatgpt a lot.
What I usually do is take baby steps and test before asking for any changes.

First get your NFC/RFID reader working.
Then get your display working.
Then you add the rest.

Sometimes chatgpt will change something in the code that you didn’t ask for, so asking chatgpt to change your Wifi network is somewhat unnecessary and can cause errors in a code that was previously working, you can do this later.

If he can’t fix an error, sometimes it’s better to open another chat and enter the latest code that works and change the way you asked him to change the code.

Do research when the code doesn’t work, it often creates things that don’t exist. So whether you like it or not, you will need to understand at least a little of what it is generating.

1 Like

That sounds like a lot more work than just reading the documentation.

4 Likes

This forum is far better at helping than AI

4 Likes